BBQ @ Night.

20110508-125233.jpg

I brought some of the chopped Bison I smoked last weekend to work and shared what I didn’t finish. This led to a coworker, who tried it, asking me if I would do some BBQ for her. “Sure,” was the answer.

So here I sit spending another night stoking the embers on the smoker. Luckily this won’t be an “all nighter” as the food isn’t being delivered until Monday.

Here’s the list of meats I was asked to do and how they were prepared and cooked.

Pork Rib Tips – To prep I removed the membrane from each rib. After this was done they were rinsed and patted dry with paper towels. From here they received a heavy coating of my homemade BBQ rub and then rested in the fridge for an hour. They were smoked at 235* for about 4 hours.

Beef Skirt Steak – These came pre seasoned and marinated so there was no prep short of removing them from their package. They were smoked at 225* for about 1.5 hours.

Pork Roast – This also came pre seasoned and marinated so no prep again except removal from the package. It was smoked at 235* for 4.5 hours.

Whole Chickens (5.5lbs each) – I am trying a new technique on these to hopefully keep the skin from being rubbery. These were cleaned then brined for 4 hours in the fridge. They were then rinsed again and placed on a wire rack to dry in the fridge for another 4 hours. Next I coated them with the homemade BBQ rub and put them back in the fridge for another hour. These were smoked at 275*-300* for 3.5 hours.

The pre seasoning and marinade definitely saved time but I could have imparted more flavor if I handled that. Either way it’s all going to be good.

Maybe one day this will actually go from hobby to career, only time will tell.

Back to the fire.

Discount Mescan

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

